5/366

“To learn to live together, we must learn to live apart.”

I had always fancied long distance relationships, being a loner it just made sense that I wanted a relationship that didn’t put a lot of pressure on me especially concerning changing my routine to fit in another person.

So the prospect of having one years back didn’t put me off at all. He He He. Not until that ended in a stupid way via text. Yes, in the 21st century some people don’t have the decency, worse still no explanation whatsoever. Just that vibe of, sorry its not you, its me. *Sigh* It was you alright.

So given what happened, I figured that maybe I wasn’t much of a loner as I had presumed, because God-knows which girl doesn’t fancy the occasional coffee dates, lunch dates, random dates, human contact every other day?  

And then I met him.

The meeting was nothing short of ridiculous. He struck a conversation  with me during one of those boring afternoons when I couldn’t be bothered to have a conversation with anyone,  much less a stranger. But like a stain, I was stuck here with him for Lawd-knows how long.

I hate to say this, but I loved his guts. Even when I gave one-worded answers, he still went on and on changing the topic of the conversation with so much ease. We talked about the hustle in Nairobi streets, pregnancy, family, career, marriage life, children, sacrifices we make…

I was hooked. Hook, line and sinker… Truth be told, I love having conversations about everything and anything under the sun, and he resonated with me. I even stopped scrolling on Kilimani Mum’s just to hear what he had to talk about next.

So you can imagine my agony when a few dates later, he mentioned that he’ll be leaving to a certain “red country” for work. My heart sunk. I was just getting acclimatized to all the many random dates and human contact. He sensed this and reassured me  incessantly.

I believe I would rather someone who, no matter the distance makes you feel like they never left, because he always compensates. Than someone who is close by but you still feel lonely and neglected.

Plus you learn to appreciate the ‘struggle’ of having a decent conversation in areas with poor reception. Simply getting connected is one thing and then you constantly keep repeating yourself and appreciate just being quiet and hearing the other person out first due to the slowed sound speed. Pure bliss.

Leave a Reply

